Brussels, 2016. Oil on canvas, 44 x 50.jpg

26.5. - 29.9. 2019

Curated by Oiliver Sears

Gallery at Emo Court, Ireland

In Living Memory: An Exhibition of Contemporary Still-Life.

To celebrate the 25th anniversary of Emo Court being bequeathed to the nation, Oliver Sears Gallery is delighted to present an exhibition of contemporary still-life to mark the inaugural opening of the first floor Gallery Rooms of the house.

This newly conserved grand Georgian space will host a collection of some 60 contemporary works by, among others, Peter Blake, Michael Craig-Martin, David Hockney, Hughie O’Donoghue, Camille Souter, Amelia Stein and Sasha Sykes. 

In Living Memory brings a selection of artists and artworks, both national and international, to the midlands for visitors to engage with during the summer months.

Emo Court was once home to a spectacular art collection, assembled over generations by the Dawson-Damer family, Earls of Portarlington. Old Master paintings including works by Van Dyck, Rubens, Breughel, Giorgione and Guido Reni and later works by Angelica Kauffman and Canaletto all hung in the Picture Gallery and throughout the House. When Major Cholmeley Harrison acquired Emo Court in 1969, he furnished the house with his art collection. These artworks were later acquired by the OPW when the house was bequeathed to the nation.

It is against this background and inspired by this history that Oliver Sears Gallery, in association with the OPW, presents the inaugural exhibition of contemporary still-life artworks at the newly conserved Gallery Rooms at Emo Court.

A catalogue is available to accompany the exhibition. The exhibition runs until 29th September 2019.

Exhibited artists:

Uta Barth
Emma Bennett
Peter Blake
Andreas Blank
Katherine Boucher Beug
Michael Canning
Barrie Cooke
Michael Craig-Martin
Claire Curneen
Colin Davidson
David Eager Maher
Jason Ellis
Mark Fairnington
Conor Fallon
Liam Flynn
Sara Flynn
Paul Gaffney
David Hockney
Stephen Lawlor
Hynek Martinec
Matthew McCaslin
Ed Miliano
Nick Miller
Hughie O’Donoghue
Enoc Perez
Stephanie Rowe
Jeff Schneider
Florian Slotawa
Camille Souter
Amelia Stein
Christoph Steinmeyer
Sasha Sykes
Donald Teskey
Sarah Walker
Samuel Walsh
Lorcan Walshe
Chuck Webster
Keith Wilson
Guy Yanai